Pursue Your Passions

The Eiffel Tower at night

The Eiffel Tower at night

Our first full day in Paris could not have been any better. We started the day by heading to the apartment of Jim and Millie Casper. Jim was the man who started the website, Lens Culture, and our speaker of the day. He told us all about his life prior to moving to Paris and pursuing photography, as well as his life now. His wife, Millie, also told the group many stories of their life before Paris and their current lifestyle as well. The couple were both very kind-hearted and willing to share so much information about their lives, which made the morning very enjoyable for all of us.

The main point that I took away from listening to Jim speak was to always pursue your passions in life. Jim had two well-paying jobs before he decided to explore photography. Even though his salary was high, his spirit was low, as he mentioned he was never happy until he chose to follow his dream. I took this to heart because my dream of becoming a professional photojournalist is bound to have ups and downs, but if I pursue it, I will be doing what I love: talking to others and telling their stories visually.

After we left Jim and Millie’s house, we ate lunch and then met with Howard and Darcy to split into two groups for a tour of our neighborhood. In my group, we talked about project ideas that could be found in our neighborhood. After chatting, I have a few ideas in mind, but have not chosen a specific topic to focus on yet.

Once the tours were over, we met back at our hostel and relaxed before dinner. After we ate, about half of our group (including myself) chose to take the metro to the Eiffel Tower. We arrived at sunset and were able to see the twinkling lights on the Tower just minutes after.  We waited in line for quite some time until we finally made it to the very top. Once we were there, I could not grasp the reality of the situation, and being so thankful that I had the opportunity to be in such a beautiful place doing what I love.

Although it was unfortunate that we missed the last metro ride back to our hostel, it was a fun experience riding back in a taxi. The driver was crazy, but he returned us safely to our hostel, and that is all that matters. Overall, I had an amazing day, and I’m sure Paris will just keep getting better!

Leave a Reply

